Top 5 Things I Learned This Weekend

Standard

5. I Am Not Burly. Ever.

I went to the Burly Man Retreat with Campus Outreach–only to discover that the only thing remotely burly about me is that I can grow a beard.

4. Sawing trees, pushing vans, and being on the bottom of 20 guys is not fun. Ever.

Sorry lumberjacks, van–pushers, and guys who have really strange fetishes.

3. Don’t go shopping with girls. Ever.

They make you buy stuff. Expensive stuff. That you really don’t need. Like jackets with weird zippers and sleeves that need to be longer. (But thanks Mads and Kels–the jacket is sweet.)

2. Waking up at 6:30 am on a Sunday morning is not fun. Ever.

Thanks BBC/Dan Holst/Musical ability. But I loved and love it, I truly did and do. Just not the whole waking up part.

1. Life is good because God is good. Always.

Burliness, tree-sawing, jackets, and 6:30 am wake up calls may not be my strongest areas–but I am thankful that I can look at them and know that they are never an end in and of themselves.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Things I Learned This Weekend

  1. Maddy

    We made you buy expensive things? Correction, Jimmy all I did was pull a jacket off of the rack and command you to put it on, than watch you buy it 2 hours later because you couldnt get it out of your head.

  2. dorothy

    ohhhh jimmy….please don’t grom a super long beard in an attempt to be burlier….lol, i know you won’t. as for shopping, when i go with you, i have only ever guided you into buying AWESOME items. so there. it’s great to read your blog and kind of keep up with what’s been going on with you. i’m sad that i won’t see you til summer, but i will definitely still be in touch and praying for you. miss u!

Leave a Reply

