Quotes From The Great Divorce.

Standard

I just read The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis.

Fantastic.

Lewis has a way of using his words in the same way a painter would use a paint brush. Every word flows into the next, carefully crafted and wonderfully placed. I highly recommend any of Lewis’ writings.

One post could not hold all of my thoughts about this book, so I’ll post some (not all) of my favorite quotes from it.

“I do not look at myself. I have given up myself”…”And that was how everything began.”

“I’m not trying to make any point. I am telling you to repent and believe.”

“I can promise you none of these things. No sphere of usefulness: you are not needed here at all. No scope for your talents: only forgiveness for having perverted them. No atmosphere of inquiry, for I will bring you to the land of answers, not of questions, and you shall see the Face of God.”

“We know nothing of Religion here: we think only of Christ.”

…”Heaven, once attained, will work backwards and turn even that agony into Glory”…”Damnation will spread back to their past and contaminate the pleasure of sin.”

“We’ve all been wrong! That’s the great joke! There is no need to go on pretending one was right. After that, we begin living.”

“We shall have no need for one another now: we can begin to love truly.”

“No people find each other more absurd than lovers.”

Comment. Ponder. Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Quotes From The Great Divorce.

  1. I especially like that book and the second to last quote you had, those words are so true. Love is a great emotion, because of its complexity yet it is very simple at the same time.

  2. Peter

    Considering that I have been obsessed with Lewis lately, I absolutely love these quotes. I think the third one would have to be my favorite. Can we discuss more of it during pillowtalk in dan and levi’s beds? Love it Crack Corn

  3. dorothy

    i love that book too. what other ones of his have you read?
    also, i would recommend reading phantastes by George macdonald. he was lewis’s favortie author, and when i read it i could tell how much lewis was influenced by him. especially in his views on love. keep posting more!i’d love to hear sme of your thoughts on the book, not just your favoritequotes(although those are cool too)
    🙂

Leave a Reply

