In Learning How To Walk, I Am Finding That Focusing On Self Seems To Be The Constant Cause Of All My Stumbling And Forgetfulness.

Standard

It always seems to carry out in life that when I am walking most confidently, I tend to focus much on myself, and not on the colossal trap I am about to walk into.

And vice versa,

It always seems to carry out in life that when I am walking in the least amount of confidence, I tend to focus much on myself, and not on the astronomical amounts of Grace already being poured on me.

One thought on “In Learning How To Walk, I Am Finding That Focusing On Self Seems To Be The Constant Cause Of All My Stumbling And Forgetfulness.

  1. Listen. On self focus. First off, within the realm of christian hedonism is the notion that you won’t ever not be self interested. Meaning you should stop feeling bad that you want stuff, have desires, want to be happy and quite honestly don’t care about anyone else quite as much. That’s just human nature.

    What can change is the object that you self-interestedness is attached too. Like for example. Let’s say you think money is the means to your own happiness. That’s dumb. or maybe self promotion. Dumb. But God? Not dumb. That self focus doesn’t change, just the object that you use to get what the self wants changes.

    That’s a problem for some people, maybe another day’s topic.

    In the end I think, we have to learn humblessness, and the only way authentic humbleness comes is from that sort of re-directed self interestedness. Humbleness c creates in us a sort of re-directed ability to look out for the interests of others, and have that be totally natural. I think that’s your goal.
    MS

Leave a Reply

