If The World Hates You, Know That It Hated Jesus First.

Standard

As the date of my Christian college graduation looms just around the corner, I find myself taking the time to reflect on all that Jesus has taught me in the past four years.

The list could extend further than this post would allow, but one of the most sobering realities deserves great attention:

If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you…” John 15:18

In other words: The Gospel is offensive.

As I look to the future, and wherever Jesus may lead me, I see with a sober heart that the message I have been entrusted with is not one of “God is love,” but rather, that “God is just, and punishes sin…”

However….

The Good News shines brighter in the latter message, namely, in Jesus Christ and His blood sacrifice upon a Cross to appease the wrath of God against sin.

God is holy, and must punish sin…and the world hates that.

Jesus is the only one who can pay for the debt created by sin…and the world hates that.

Jesus does not simply call us to “make a choice for Him,” or “decide to believe in Him,” but to repent and turn to Him…and the world hates that.

So I find myself  with this treasure in a jar of clay somberly, soberly, but yet joyfully remembering…

If the world hates me, know that it hated Jesus first.

One thought on “If The World Hates You, Know That It Hated Jesus First.

Leave a Reply

